Navajo County

Proudly Serving, Continuously Improving Since 1895

Navajo County Board of Supervisors
District I

District I Supervisor
Jonathan M. Nez

Supervisor Jonathan M. Nez represents Navajo County District I, which includes all, or portions of, the communities of Shonto, Kayenta, Chilchinbeto, Forest Lake, Black Mesa, Piñon, Low Mountain, Blue Gap/Tachee, Whippoorwill Springs, Whitecone, Greasewood Springs, Indian Wells, and Sun Valley. Supervisor Nez has more than ten years of dedicated experience serving the public in various capacities. He is now serving in his second term as a Navajo County Supervisor, along with serving as a Navajo Nation Council Delegate for the Navajo Mountain, Oljato, Shonto, and Ts'ah Bii Kin Communities.

Supervisor Nez served as the Chairman of the Board in 2013 and currently serves as the Vice-Chairman. He also currently serves as the Chairman of the Navajo Nation's Budget and Finance Committee and in a number of other capacities throughout the northern region of Arizona and Utah.

As a doctoral candidate in Political Science, Supervisor Nez has completed research on local empowerment and mobilizing local communities of the Navajo Nation to reinstate their inherent local way of governance. His research focuses on the reduction of dependence on the central tribal government, and to uphold and enhance the local inherent sovereignty of the chapter areas.

Supervisor Nez is an avid runner and advocate for healthy living. He enjoys training and competing in long-distance events, and has competed in multiple marathons. He hopes to run a marathon in each of the 50 states. He enjoys spending time outdoors with his wife and their children.


  • B.S. in Political Science – Northern Arizona University (2002)
  • Masters in Public Administration – Northern Arizona University (2005)
  • Certificate in Public Management – Northern Arizona University (2005)

Top of Page