Navajo County

Proudly Serving, Continuously Improving Since 1895

Navajo County Public Health Services
Vital Records
Death Certificates

Services

Navajo County Public Health Services District (NCPHSD), Office of Vital Records offers certified copies of Arizona deaths that occurred from 2/1/08 to present. For a certified copy of any other death that occurred in Arizona you must contact the Arizona Department of Health Services, Office of Vital Records. We accept completed applications over the counter or by mail. We issue death certificates from our office located at 117 E. Buffalo Street, Holbrook, AZ, 86025. Certified death certificates are issued from an Arizona electronic database. We are only able to issue what is in the data-base. Deaths that occurred within the last 30 – 90 days may not be completed and entered into the data-base. We can not accept applications via fax or email. Acceptable ID and the appropriate fee must be submitted along with a completed application. Please see the fee schedule below. We do not provide refunds for issued death certificates. For more information, please call the Vital Records Office at (928) 524-4750.

  • Amendments and Corrections NCPHSD can only correct or amend records for deaths occurring from February 1, 2008 to the present. To correct or amend a death that occurred prior to February 1, 2008, you must contact the Arizona Department of Health Services, Office of Vital Records. See the Arizona Department of Health Services, Office of Vital Records, Forms for an Affidavit to Correct Death Record. This form must be completed for an amendment or a correction. Most amendments and corrections require original documentation in addition to the completed form. Please call our office to find out what documents are required for the amendment or correction that needs to be made.

Eligibility for a Death Certificate

Arizona is a “closed record” state. That means that vital records are not public record. Arizona law restricts the public’s access to vital records as follows to protect the confidentiality rights of our citizens. Arizona Administrative Code R9-19-405 specifies that only the following may receive a certified copy of a death certificate:

* Only persons 18 years of age or older may obtain a certified copy of a death certificate.

  • Spouse or Immediate Family Member — You must provide proof of relationship:

    • Birth certificates that link the applicant to the deceased or

    • Marriage certificate that links the surviving spouse to the deceased

    Note: Listed as the informant on the death certificate is not sufficient proof of relationship.

  • Attorney Representing Family Members — You must provide:

    • A letter of request on your official letterhead stating your professional relationship to the family member, signed by you, the attorney and containing your bar number.

    • Documentation, such as a signed retainer stating that you have been retained by the family member.

    • Documentation of the family member’s relationship to the deceased.

  • Attorney Representing the Estate — You must provide:

    • A letter of request on your official letterhead stating your professional relationship signed by you, the attorney and containing your bar number.

  • Attorney Representing Persons with a Legal Interest — You must provide:
    • A letter of request on your official letterhead stating your professional relationship to the person with legal interest, signed by you, the attorney and containing your bar number.

    • Documentation, such as a signed retainer stating that you have been retained by the person with legal interest.

    • Documentation of the person’s legal interest, such as:

      • Wills that link the deceased to the person with legal interest

      • Insurance policy

      • Court order of guardianship

      • Title to personal or real property listing the deceased and applicant as co-owners

      • A document that establishes a legal interest in the record

  • Non-Attorney Legal Interest — You must provide:

    • Documentation to establish a relationship between yourself and the deceased and legal interest in the certificate such as documentation of personal or real property listing you and the deceased as co-owners.

For fee information, refer to the fee schedule.

Other Requirements

  1. You must complete and sign an Arizona Death Certificate application, available online or in the office.

  2. You must submit a valid government issued picture ID that includes a signature. Please see below for acceptable forms of ID.

  3. If you submit the application by mail, the form must be notarized. Notarized applications will not be accepted for same day service. Notarized applications will be accepted over the counter; however certificates will be mailed for these completed applications.

  4. You must submit the appropriate fee.

Acceptable Forms of Identification

  • United States issued Drivers Licenses
  • United States issued Identification Card
  • United States Territories Drivers License or Identification Card
  • Tribal Identification Cards that contains bearer’s signature
  • U.S. Military Identification Cards that contains bearer’s signature (some do not)
  • Passports-United States or Foreign issued
  • Visa –In a passport and the bearer’s signature is on the passport not the Visa
  • Permanent Resident Card issued on or after May 11, 2010 which includes a signature
  • Resident Alien Card (Form I-551)
  • Employment Authorization Card (Form I-766)
  • Employment Authorization Card (Form I-688A)
  • Employment Authorization Card (Form I-688B)
  • Temporary Resident Card (Form I-688)

Please note: Any other forms of ID are NOT acceptable. Any form of ID that is expired, cracked, broken, taped, faded or excessively damaged will not be accepted.

Fee Schedule - Effective July 1, 2011

Service Fee
Death Certificate $20
Amendments/Corrections 90 days after the date of death but less than 1 year $30
Fetal Death Certificate $20

Acceptable Forms of Payment

  • Money Order

Office Location / Mailing Address / Phone / Hours

Physical / Mailing Address:

117 E Buffalo Street
Holbrook, AZ 86025

Phone:

(928) 524-4750

Death Certificate Issuing Hours:

Monday - Thursday
8:00 - 12:00
1:00 - 5:00

Note: Since our office does birth certificate issuing on Monday or Wednesdays we are usually unable to assist with death certificates on these days. Please call for an appointment.

More Information about AZ DHS

For more information on Arizona Vital Records visit the Arizona Department of Health Services, Office of Vital Records Web site. Or contact them by phone at (888) 816-5907 or (602) 364-1300. You can visit them in person or reach them by mail at:

Arizona Department of Health Services
Office of Vital Records
1818 West Adams Street
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Vital Records from other States

For your convenience, we have contact information for Vital Records Offices in other states.

Top of Page