ARS§ 15-802.A. states that every child between the ages of six and sixteen years
shall attend a school and shall be provided instruction in at least the subjects
of reading, grammar, mathematics, social studies and science. The person who has
custody of the child shall choose a public, private, charter or home school.
If the parent/guardian of the child chooses home school they must file an "Affidavit
of Intent" with the County School Superintendent’s Office within 30 days from the
time the child begins home schooling. Your signature must be notarized on the
affidavit. If home schooling of the child is terminated the parent/guardian
must notify the County School Superintendent’s Office within 30 days. Should the
child go back to home school the parent/guardian must file a new affidavit with
the County School Superintendent’s Office. Print the form, available on menu to
the left, and fill it out. Return it to the Navajo County School Superintendent’s
Certified Birth Certificate
A copy of the child’s birth certificate must be filed along with the affidavit.
A hospital birth record IS NOT a certified birth certificate. A certified birth
certificate is issued by the state in which the child is born and can be obtained
from the Department of Vital Records or Department of Health. To reach the ARIZONA
Vital Records Office call 602-364-1300 or by mail Arizona Vital Records, P. O. Box
3887, Phoenix, Arizona 85030. You may also find Vital Records Information from any
state or country at vitalrec.com
ARS§15-802.01.A. Notwithstanding any other law, a child who resides within the attendance
area of a public school and who is instructed at home shall be allowed to try out
for interscholastic activities on behalf of the public school in the same manner
as a pupil who is enrolled in that public school. Registration, age eligibility
requirements, fees, insurance, transportation, physical condition, qualifications,
responsibilities, event schedules, standard of behavior and performance policies
for home schooled students shall be consistent with those policies established for
students enrolled in that public school. B. A child who is instructed at home and
who was previously enrolled in a school shall be ineligible to participate in interscholastic
activities for the remainder of the school year during which the child was enrolled
in a school.
The county school superintendent’s office does not provide testing for home schooled
students. Pursuant to ARS§15-745B. A child who enrolls in a kindergarten program
or grades one through twelve after receiving instruction in a home school program
shall be tested pursuant to this article in order to determine the appropriate grade
level for the educational placement of the child.
Students can test in their Home School District. Parents are encouraged to put in
writing and send to the school Testing Coordinator, so they know that your home
school child is going to be tested.
Other Information Sources
Arizona Families for Home Education
P.O. Box 2035
Chandler, AZ 85244-2035
Office Contact Person
For questions or more information please contact Ms. Terrilyn Thompson by phone
at 928-524-4204 or email her at firstname.lastname@example.org.