Hazard Mitigation Plan

Navajo County Multi-Jurisdiction Hazard Mitigation Plan Update Begins.

A planning team of representatives from within Navajo County, the City of Show Low, the Town of Pinetop-Lakeside, the City of Winslow, the City of Holbrook, the Town of Snowflake, and the Town of Taylor are working together to update the Multi-Jurisdiction Hazard Mitigation Plan. The purpose of this process is to update the current 2017 Navajo County Multi-Jurisdiction Hazard Mitigation Plan, previously approved by FEMA on October 16, 2017. Local, county, tribal, and state governments must have a FEMA-approved hazard mitigation plan to be eligible for federal hazard mitigation grant funds and in some cases, other types of disaster funding. The mitigation plan focuses on the community's most threatening hazards and establishes a strategy to reduce the impact of those hazards to protect people and property and to create safer, more resilient communities. The planning team anticipates having a plan draft by July 2023.

Navajo County is requesting input from community members regarding the plan, in particular the Risk Assessment. Your feedback is an important aspect of our mitigation efforts to limit or avoid the damages of a disaster such as wildfires, floods, and drought. Please use the button below to submit your feedback or comments. We strive for continuous improvement and look forward to hearing your thoughts.

For more information or questions regarding the Navajo County Multi-Jurisdiction Hazard Mitigation Plan, please contact Catrina Jenkins or email Hazard Mitigation Plan.